Now Reading
Is Tajín Vegan?

Is Tajín Vegan?

While the ingredients in Tajín seasoning are technically vegan, there is some debate that one of the ingredients used in the popular spice isn’t totally vegan. So if you’re on a strict vegan diet, Tajín is not for you. However, if you are comfortable with using products that may have been treated with animal byproducts, then Tajín is fine to consume.

What’s In Tajín?

The ingredient list in Tajín shows that it’s made with chili peppers, sea salt, dehydrated lime juice, and silicon dioxide (an anti-caking agent).

The jury is still out on whether or not silicon dioxide is vegan. Some claim that since it’s found naturally, it is automatically vegan. Others argue that since it’s often processed with animal byproducts, it is not vegan.

For example, one study found that silicon dioxide can be processed with hydrofluoric acid, which is made from fluorine gas and HF (hydrogen fluoride). HF is produced by adding hydrogen to fluorine gas, which is a byproduct of the phosphate fertilizer industry. The fluorine gas is typically produced from hydrofluoric acid, which is made from hydrogen and fluorine.

So, while silicon dioxide may be vegan in its purest form, the way it’s processed may not be vegan.

The same goes for lime juice. While limes are citrus fruits, they’re often coated with wax after harvesting to preserve freshness.  This wax is often made from beeswax, or shellac, which are not vegan.

See Also

What Does Tajín Taste Like?

Tajín has a unique flavor that is difficult to describe. It is salty and tangy, with a slightly sweet and spicy kick. The lime juice gives it a tartness, while the chili peppers add a touch of heat. Overall, it is an incredibly flavorful seasoning that can be used on a variety of foods.

How Do I Use Tajín?

Tajín can be used in a number of ways. It is commonly used as a seasoning for fresh fruits and vegetables, particularly cucumbers, mangoes, and watermelon. The tangy flavor Tajín Clásico Seasoning can also be used as dry spice rubs or mixed into sauces and dips. Basically, if you can think of it, Tajín can probably be used as a seasoning for it.

The Bottom Line

While the ingredients in Tajín may be technically vegan, there is some debate as to whether or not they are truly vegan. If you are a strict vegan, it’s best to avoid Tajín.

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for informational purposes only. No material on this site is intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health care provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition or treatment and before undertaking a new health care regimen.
© 2021 CELEBRIBODY. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.
Scroll To Top